Product Review: Pantene Expert Advanced Keratin Repair

Well, hello there.  Long time no see.  How have you been?  Me?  So-so.  The summer has been meh, largely due to my job search thus far not amounting to much.  I did have an interview a couple of weeks ago that seems promising, and I’m hoping to hear from them soon.  I’ll keep you posted.

Pantene Expert Advanced Keratin Repair Shampoo and Conditioner

Pantene Expert Advanced Keratin Repair Shampoo and Conditioner

Meanwhile, I thought I’d try my hand at a product review.  There are a few newish products I’ve tried over the last few months that I considered, but the products I chose for my first review are Pantene Expert Keratin Repair Shampoo and Conditioner, which I decided to try after my stylist, Chuck, used keratin products on my hair and recommended I get them for home use.  See, my hair has been really bad lately, and that is rather traumatic for me because I’ve always had great hair.  I have hypothyroidism, or low thyroid function.  Among the lovely side effects of hypothyroidism are hair loss and change in hair texture.  My once thick, wavy, somewhat coarse hair has become thin and fine, with an absurd frizz.  My hair has always been frizzy enough to use a frizz-buster serum, but this has been crazy.  Like 100% humidity crazy frizz.  And I could do nothing to tame it. 

Over the last few months, the frizziness continued to get worse and my hair was looking more and more damaged.  I was due for a haircut and a re-do on my highlights, so I made an appointment with Chuck, fully convinced I was going to have to cut off all of my halfway-down-my-back hair.  I even took photos with me to the salon of short hair styles I thought I could possibly live with.  Thankfully Chuck said I didn’t need to cut it short, which made me glad because while I did find some short styles that were really cute, I don’t like short hair on me.  I think it looks great on other women, but I am too short and too fat to have short hair.  So he cut my hair to my shoulders and recommended two things to me that might help – the first is biotin, a B-vitamin sometimes called vitamin H that supports healthy skin, hair and nails.  He said many of his clients with hair loss have been having good results with biotin.

The second recommendation was keratin.  Chuck washed and conditioned my hair with keratin products, and my hair felt great!  So when I got home I looked up the salon products he used on me and they were pricey – $26 for an 8.5-ounce tube of the shampoo and $25 for a 6-ounce conditioner.  That’s a lot right now.  So the next day when I went to Meijer, I perused the shampoo aisle and came across this new Pantene Expert line and lo and behold, they had keratin products!  At $8 each, they were far more affordable, so I chose the Advanced Keratin Repair shampoo and conditioner.  I have to admit I was excited.

However, my excitement quickly waned.  The first time I washed and conditioned my hair with the Advanced Keratin Repair shampoo and conditioner, I was concerned.  Even wet, my hair just didn’t feel clean.  I went ahead and styled my hair as usual, using root booster, mousse and argan oil frizz buster, and it looked…flat.  There was no shine.  It also felt like it was coated with a waxy substance. Worse yet, the frizzies were not tamed.  I thought maybe I used too much conditioner so I made a mental note to use less next time.

A few days later (I don’t ‘poo every day – more like 2-3 times a week.  It’s healthier for your hair and scalp), I washed and conditioned again, using less conditioner, and my hair felt the same.  I styled using the same products and had essentially the same result – dull, flat, frizzy hair.  I also noticed another side effect – my hair was looking dirtier faster.  At this point I’m getting upset – I paid $16 for the pair and they’re not doing the job.

Let me just say I’ve used Pantene styling products for years and I’ve generally been pleased with them.  So the results I was getting with these products was very disappointing.  This morning when I washed and conditioned my hair with Advanced Keratin Repair and got that same gummy, unclean feeling, I grabbed my old shampoo and conditioner and rewashed and reconditioned my hair.  After rinsing, it felt much better., but still coated.  I’m thinking it’s going to take a few shampoos to get this gummy feeling out of my hair.

My verdict on Pantene Expert Advanced Keratin Repair Shampoo and Conditioner is a thumbs-down.  It definitely did not work for my fine, thinning. frizzy hypo hair.  If you’d like to check them out yourself, the website is http://www.pantene.com/en-US/hair-care-collections/advanced-keratin-repair.aspx.  As for me, I think I will splurge on the shampoo and conditioner that Chuck used on my hair.   Amazon has a three-product set – shampoo, cream rinse/conditioner and treatment – for $53.  Better price!

Disclaimer:  I purchased the products mentioned in this review on my own with my own money, and the decision to write a review on them is mine.  I received no compensation of any kind from any individual or company to write this review.

Leave a Reply

