Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot…

Well, here we are at the end of 2012 and it was one hell of a year, not necessarily all good.  It started out fine, but went downhill quickly to the point that by mid summer I was looking forward to 2013.  So here are the highlights and lowlights from my own little personal corner of the world:

EMU 2I started grad school.  At this point I am halfway through a two-year master’s degree program in Integrated Marketing Communications at Eastern Michigan University.  And I have a 3.56 GPA.  Yes, I am proud of that!  At this time next year I’ll be graduating.  I’ve wanted to get a  master’s degree since I got my bachelor’s degree but just never got around to it.  I finally put my foot down and did it.  

My glasses - Vera Bradley "Natalie" frames in Make Me Blush

My glasses – Vera Bradley “Natalie” frames in Make Me Blush

I scratched my cornea, which resulted in my having to wear glasses for two weeks.  Thankfully late last year I got some super cute and totally fashionable new frames – they’re plummy purple and oh-so-subtley metallic.

I saw my first opera.  In May my friend Mike and I went to see I Pagliacci at the Michigan Opera Theatre.  It was a wonderful experience, far better than I expected it to be!  I hope I can go again next season.

sarah symphony

I saw Sarah McLachlan at Meadowbrook on July 1.  She always puts on a great show.  Despite the heat and humidity (and stupid me wearing my hair down and forgetting to pack a pony tail holder in my giant Vera Bradley bag), it was an awesome show.  It was a little different as she had a symphony backing her, but Sarah was splendid.  

My friend Rick died on July 1.  On my way home from the concert our mutual friend Kim texted me about it.  He apparently had several medical issues going on and he died of natural causes.  He was only 45 and while we hadn’t seen each other in 20 years (at least) and had only been Facebook friends for about three years, his death still hit me hard.  It still makes me sad five months later.

My broken foot, July 10.

My broken foot, July 10.

I broke my left foot.  It was a stress fracture but it still laid me up for the whole freaking summer.  That tiny little break that barely showed up on an x-ray three weeks after my podiatrist said “it’s probably a stress fracture” started what seems to be a never-ending medical drama that continues to this day (more on that below).

ADITM

The “A Diamond in the Mind” viewing party with Melissa, Monica, Katie and Tracey at Melissa’s house was too much fun, as was the “Sing Blue Silver” viewing party (minus Tracey) at  Monica’s house.  Seriously, ladies, we HAVE to get together more in 2013.

I wound up in hospital with three blood clots in my leg.  Yup, the stress fracture and my immobility for six weeks resulted in deep vein thrombosos (DVT) in my left leg.  My doctors – the hospital doc, the podiatrist, my chiropractor and my PC – all concluded that the fact that I was off my foot and very sedentary for six weeks combined with the body’s natural clotting factors that are released when there is a bone fracture are what likely caused the clots.  Three days in hospital (hey, one day for each clot!), one week of self-injections of anti-clotting medication and six months of coumadin followed (I’m halfway through the coumadin regimen).

Photo illustration: Peggy Dombrowski

Photo illustration: Peggy Dombrowski

The NHL is on lockout, again.  And it ruined my vacation.  I only get one week off per year (after four and a half years, go figure) and each year I go to Traverse City to attend Red Wings Training Camp with a bunch of other crazed Wings fans.  I had my reservations and everything all set, then word came down one week before departure that the lockout was on.  I’ve ranted about this before but why on earth would you not start negotiating months in advance when you know the exact time that your collective bargaining agreement is going to run out?  NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman wanted this lockout.  So my vacation ended up being a low-key stay-at-home affair.  Bah.

My work hours got cut.  I didn’t mention this one earlier, but now I’m working half the hours I was before – 15 hours a week.  That does not pay the bills.  The last month and a half have been a real struggle.   The only upside is it’s given me much more time to do homework, which was good because I had two classes this half-semester.

Twelve Oaks Mall in Novi, Michigan

Twelve Oaks Mall in Novi, Michigan

Two all-day shopping trips with Lori Rinaldi were once again successful, although I still can’t figure out how the heck we ran out of time earlier this month.  We arrived at the mall shortly after it opened around 10:00 AM and we are still there when it closes.  Yes, that’s 11+ hours in a mall.  What can I say?  We love shopping!  And with our opposite work schedules – Lori’s weekends are Thursday and Friday – we don’t get together as much as we would like to, so our all day shopping is like a girl’s day out.  But this time we ran out of time.  Silly us, thinking the stores would be open past 9 PM during the holiday season.

And once again, the world did not end.  The Mayan Long Form Calendar ended on December 21, 2012, and many people felt that meant the world would cease to exist on that day.  And of course it didn’t.  Just like when that preacher predicted the world would end a year ago this past May.

So here we are, on the brink of another new year.  I can’t say I’m sad to see 2012 go…it hasn’t been the greatest of years.   And just so you know, yes, I will be doing resolutions, sort of.  They’re not so much resolutions as they are things I’d like to focus on/do in 2013.  That list will be coming later this week.

But for now I will just wish everyone a very happy, safe and prosperous New Year.

2 thoughts on “Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot…

  1. Here’s hoping that 2013 is MUCH better for you! You definitely had your share of challenges. I am sure you have emerged all the stronger for them!
    It’s funny how what is sad for one would be a blessing for another! I wish I had a job! 15 hrs to me, now, would be a blessing! Everything happens for a reason, you probably just don’t know it yet.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    • Thanks Caren! However this morning I joined the ranks of the unemployed. 😦 Can’t say I didn’t see it coming, though, especially after my hours were cut.

Leave a Reply

