Another Foot Update (Hopefully the Last One)

The Centre Ice Arena in Traverse City, where the Detroit Red Wings training camp is held every September.

When does something border on ridiculousness or the absurd?  Seriously, I’m getting really tired of dealing with this stress fracture in my foot and the assorted problems it’s bringing.  Now I have a new issue to deal with – a foot, ankle and leg infection that could very well be staph, as in the stuff that causes necrotizing faciitis, AKA flesh-eating bacteria.  For reals.

When I woke up Saturday morning, my foot was really painful, but not in the area of the fracture, which I thought was strange.  I though maybe it was the odd way I’ve been walking over the last month  and a half catching up to me and went on my weekly grocery shopping trip anyway, but I didn’t go to the mall as I had been planning.  I made it a quick trip because my foot was aching.

Then Sunday it got really bad – the pain and swelling had spread to my leg and I had convinced myself I had a blood clot.  My mom has this medical book and read off the symptoms of DVT and thrombophlebitis to me and I really didn’t have any of them except the swelling, and it was in the wrong area of my leg anyway.  This calmed me down a bit, but I was still up until 1:40 AM, afraid to go to sleep, convinced that I would have a stroke or something.  I almost went to the emergency room several times that evening.  It was that bad.  

By Monday morning I couldn’t walk on it at all, and everything – pain and swelling – was getting worse, so I called to make an appointment with my podiatrist for this morning (he’s only in his local office Tuesdays and Thursdays).  Then yesterday evening I was talking to a neighbor and she said she got cellulitis from an injection in her foot, and the description of her symptoms sounded a lot like what was going on with my foot, ankle and leg.  Like her, I’d had injections in my foot, to help with pain from the fracture.

My podiatrist was shocked to see me because I wasn’t supposed to go back for two weeks.  When I told him about the new problems and mentioned my neighbor and her cellulitis, he said it could be, but it didn’t appear to be as bad as cellulitis usually is (not as bad?  Seriously?  This EFFING hurts!!  It hurt so bad I was CRYING!).  He surmised it’s likely a mild staph infection and gave me strong antibiotics to kill it.  And I have to go back to see him on Thursday.  And I have to stay off of it and keep it elevated as much as possible.

So this summer really was just a bust.  I start classes next week so basically it’s over for me.  However, I still have my vacation to Red Wings Training Camp in Traverse City in September to look forward to, as long as Gary Bettman doesn’t eff that one up.

Leave a Reply

