Just When I Get Motivated to Exercise…

How did this happen?  Would you believe me if I said I didn’t know?

My swollen, sore left foot on July 8.

My ankle started hurting on June 30 after a shopping trip with my mom – I didn’t trip, twist or roll my ankle, or fall.  It just started feeling bruised.  Over the next few days it started to swell and the pain spread to my arch and over the top of my foot, to the point where by July 4, I was limping.

X-rays showed nothing, although my doctor suggested it might be a stress fracture and/or plantar fasciitis.  Now how the hell did I get a stress fracture?  It’s not like I’m super active or anything!  In fact, I finally made an appointment with a personal trainer because I’m trying to get more active and I had to cancel it because of my foot!  Stress fractures supposedly happen from over use, so if any bone in my body should have stress fracture it’s my ass bone. 

Anyway, my doctor suggested I see a podiatrist and he concurred with the stress fracture/plantar fasciitis diagnosis, although his x-rays didn’t show anything either.  Apparently stress fractures don’t always show up right away on x-rays.  He wrapped my foot like a burrito, gave me a fancy surgical shoe and told me to stay off of it as much as possible.  Okay, I can do that.  Oh, and keep the burrito on until Friday – and don’t get it wet.  Well, hell, how am I supposed to bathe?  Sponge bath, anyone?  Thankfully I washed my hair that morning, otherwise things could have got ugly.

The foot burrito, July 10.

Today is really the first day I can walk normally.  I didn’t even wear my fancy shoe to work today!  Although the top of my foot is still sore and swollen and my arch kind of hurts.  I think I still need to wrap it.  I go back to the podiatrist Thursday and hopefully he’ll take more x-rays and something will show up.

But I’d still like to know how I got a stress fracture, if that’s indeed what it is.  I mean, runners get stress fractures.  I don’t run.  Old ladies with osteoporosis get stress fractures.  I am neither old nor do I have osteoporosis.

I’ll keep you posted.

UPDATE 7/19/12 – I went back to the podiatrist today and he took more x-rays. Sure enough, there appeared to be a faint diagonal line on my fourth metatarsal (the foot bone beneath my “ring finger” toe), indicative of a stress fracture. So I have to stay off of it as much as possible for at least a month. And that includes exercise. I suppose it could be worse…even though I have to keep it wrapped, at least it’s not in a cast.

One thought on “Just When I Get Motivated to Exercise…

Leave a Reply

