Not Quite Procrastinating…

I know in my last post I said I would have my New Year’s Resolutions list on the first, but I got sidetracked, then school started and then…well, let’s just say 10 days in to the new year and I haven’t completed it yet.  But really, is there a law that says New Year’s Resolutions have to be made on New Year’s Day?  No?  Didn’t think so.  So for now, just a few random thoughts…

I signed up for Pinterest last month.  I have a few Facebook friends – and one coworker – who are really into it, so I snagged an invitation and created an account.  It’s kind of fun, sort of like a visual Facebook.  You post (or “pin”) photos of things you like from fashion to home furnishings to recipes, graphics with quotes, images from web sites, then write a few words – or a lot of words – about them.  Other people can “like” your pin (similar to liking a Facebook post) or “repin” your pin (like a Twitter retweet), with or without adding their own comments.  I’ve already found a few recipes I want to try from pins.  It’s a fun time-suck, for sure, and I’m not nearly as hardcore as my co-worker, but I’m enjoying it.

The T-Mobile MyTouch 4G Slide. It has a physical keyboard which, interestingly, I never use.

New cell phone report – last month I got a T-Mobile MyTouch 4G Slide and while it’s a nice phone, I’m not in love with it.  See, I really, really (really) wanted a Blackberry, but when the old Samsung Highlight (AKA the POS) went missing, I had to get a new phone, and without getting into details and using the rest of this post to explain my phone plan, I choose to pay full retail price for the phone (I pay more at the outset, but less each month.  For me, it works better with my budget).  I did not have enough money set aside to buy the Blackberry Bold, which is what I wanted, so I went with the MT4GS.  If only the Samsung had waited another month to go missing…Anyway, this is the first phone I’ve had that has Internet access on it and I have to admit I’m digging that.  There are a lot of things I like about the phone, including the phenomenal 8MP camera, but there are some things I don’t – for example, I haven’t yet figured out how to turn off the Twitter notifications that I keep getting every five minutes (“You have 1,572 new Tweets.” I don’t care!), and that when the ringer is on mute and the vibrating alert is on, the vibrating is audible – people (read: co-workers) can literally hear my phone vibrate.  Plus, it’s heavy.  I keep my phone in my front pocket at work and it’s pulling my jeans down, especially because after losing 25 pounds, my jeans are kind of big on me.   But I don’t hate it, which is good because I’m stuck with it until October 2013.  BTW – I found the Samsung three days later when it started chirping due to a low battery from under my bed!  How it got there, I don’t know.  I still kept the MT4GS because I didn’t want to pay a $50 restocking fee.

We haven't seen any of this yet this season...

The weather has been crazy – it’s nearly the middle of January and we’ve barely had any snow, although that’s supposed to change soon.  The temperatures have been in the 40’s too, and we should be in the low 30’s.  Not that I’m complaining, though – I have a 30-mile commute one way to work and when we have snow my commute is easily doubled or even tripled.  A couple of years ago on the last work day before Christmas we had a snowstorm that deposited several inches during the day.  The drive home was hell.  It literally took me three and a half hours to get home from work.  No joke.  If it wasn’t the day before Christmas Eve I would have found a hotel and stayed the night near work and went home the next day after the roads were cleared.   So now I have a Winter Kit that I keep in my car for just such a situation – it has everything I might need for an overnight and it’s ready to grab and go.

Shameless self-promotion - the nancy b*eads logo/business card.

I went through some of my old jewelry supply catalogs today and pulled out a lot of design ideas.  As I’m looking at these designs and thinking of how I can use them in my own designs, I decided I really have to start making jewelry again.  I have a few crystal bracelets up on my jewelry Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nancy-Beads/270872009595067) but I need to do more.  I’m a very creative person and I feel best when I’m creating.  I haven’t done enough of that lately and it’s going to be hard to find time now that I’m back in school, but I need to do it.  Plus it’ll give me some extra money, which is never a bad thing!

So, back to the Resolutions – I promise (promise!) that I will have them up this weekend.  And no, this year I’m not going to include getting married by the end of the year on the list.  That didn’t quite work out.

Leave a Reply

