Cooking with Nancy – Tabbouleh

I’ve been trying some new recipes lately and being the foodie that I am, I thought, now why am I not sharing them with my readers??  So, from time to time I will feature a recipe on this blog.  First up is tabbouleh.  The recipe is from the Food Network’s Ellie Krieger.  I didn’t have bulgur so I used couscous, nor did I have red onion – I used green onions.  I also omitted the lemon zest and ground cumin.  I made a half-recipe, but the ingredients are for the original, whole recipe:

Tabbouleh

Ingredients:

1 cup bulgur wheat

1 1/2 cups boiling water

2 medium tomatoes, seeded and diced (about 2 cups)

1 large cucumber, seeded and diced (about 2 cups)

1/2 cup diced red onion

2 cups finely chopped parsley leaves

1/3 cup finely chopped mint leaves

3 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 cup lemon juice

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

1 teaspoon ground cumin

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Here are my ingredients before I began:

The first thing I did is cook the couscous.  This is about 2/3 of a cup of uncooked couscous:

According to the package, you bring water, salt and a bit of olive oil or butter to just a boil, then put the dry couscous in and let it sit for five minutes, then stir.  This is what it looks like when it’s done:

According to Ellie Krieger’s recipe, place the bulgur in a large, heat-proof bowl.  Pour boiling water over it, stir and cover lightly with plastic wrap.  Let sit for about 15 minutes, until the water is absorbed and the bulgur is tender.  Drain any excess water from the bulgur.

On to my other ingredients – chopped parsley:

Chopped mint:

 

Chopped, seeded and diced cucumber:

Chopped, seeded and diced tomato:

Sliced green onions:

Stir the bulgur (couscous) in with the tomatoes, cucumber, onion parsley and mint.  In a small bowl, whisk the olive oil, lemon juice, zest, cumin, salt and pepper:

Pour the dressing over the bulgur (couscous) mixture and toss to combine:

Cover and refrigerate for at least one hour.  Serve chilled.  Makes six 1 1/4 cup servings.

Doesn’t it look yummy?  It’s in the refrigerator chilling now, and as it is past midnight I won’t be having any tonight.  But I did take a taste and it is very good!!  There are only 175 calories per serving so it’s not a diet buster ( 8 grams fat, 4 grams protein, 25 grams carbs, and 6 grams fiber).  Serve alongside a grilled chicken breast, and you’ve got a great, healthy meal!  That’s probably what I’m going to do tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

